Brown County

Counties: Brown County

Natural Areas Organizations

Brown County Indiana Location Map

Brown County is in south central Indiana. It is bounded on the north by Morgan County and Johnson County, on the west by Monroe County, on the south by Monroe County and Jackson County, and on the east by Bartholomew County.

  Natural Areas

Brown County State Park
 See also: DNR

Deam Wilderness
 See also: USFS

Hare Preserve at Downey Hill
 See also: SLT

Hickory Ridge Trail

Hitz-Rhodehamel Woods
 See also: NC

Mountain Tea State Forest

Nebo Ridge Trail

Ogle Hollow NP

Selma Steele Nature Preserve
 See also: DNR [PDF]

Sycamore Loop

Ten O'Clock Line NP

Trevlac Bluffs Nature Preserve

Whip-poor-will Woods

Yellowwood State Forest
 See also: DNR


Indiana Native Plant Society - South Central Chapter

Sassafras Audubon Society

Sycamore Land Trust



Brown County Indiana Watersheds map

Brown County Watersheds
Click to enlarge

Red lines on the map depict the boundaries of 8-digit hydrologic units (one convenient definition of a watershed) as shown on this 1974 United States Geological Survey Map.

Brown County drains into five different 8-digit hydrologic units, each represented on the image above by an area between red lines and within the county boundary, designated by a letter. Clicking on a watershed name below will take you to separate page with more information on that watershed.




Upper White
Lower White
Lower East Fork White
Upper East Fork White