Franklin County

Counties: Franklin County

Natural Areas Organizations

Franklin County Indiana Location Map

Franklin County is in southeastern Indiana. It is bounded on the north by Fayette County and Union County, on the west by Rush County and Decatur County, on the south by Ripley County and Dearborn County, and on the east by Ohio.

  Natural Areas

Mounds State Recreation Area


Indiana Native Plant Society - Central Chapter



Franklin County Indiana Watersheds map

Franklin County Watersheds
Click to enlarge

Red lines on the map depict the boundaries of 8-digit hydrologic units (one convenient definition of a watershed) as shown on this 1974 United States Geological Survey Map.

Franklin County drains into three different 8-digit hydrologic units, each represented on the image above by an area between red lines and within the county boundary, designated by a letter. Clicking on a watershed name below will take you to separate page with more information on that watershed.




Lower Great Miami
Middle Ohio-Laughery